Two Views on Discipline: Policing or Encouraging

I am trying something a little different lately, being encouraged by a friend. In my discipline of the children I am trying to verbally and attitudinally reinforce my position as their supporter. I remind them that they CAN make a good choice, with God’s help. I remind them that I am FOR them….that I want to see them make good choices…and that I, too, struggle with making good choices. It is hard for all. Of course, there are still consequences when the good choice is not made, but our discussions in times of discipline are different. I think this perspective is very important for Ginna. I have told her for a long time that she does not need me to tell her repeatedly that most of the things she does that lead to trouble are off limits. She knows. But somehow, this verbal affirmation of being on her side, yet still in authority, is encouraging to her little heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment